DIY Boy’s Dress Up Kit

You’ve already seen the firefighter costume that I made for my son for Christmas.

Here is the rest of the set.

First, a king costume. I made the crown out of scrap material from my stash using this tutorial. There are about a thousand cape tutorials out there. I looked at a few, made a pattern of my own, and winged it, adding a fur collar.  

Remnant (sweet! remnant discount) of purple velvety-type fabric, about a yard: $1.67

Fake Fur, 3 inch cut $0.65

Total Cost: $2.32

Second,  a construction worker costume. I made the tool belt based on this tutorial.  The fabric is from my stash – I have been hanging on to this Michael Miller “wheels” fabric for a while, trying to figure out what to do with it. The tools were part of a set that he already had. The construction hard hat was $1 at the thrift store.

Double fold black bias tape $2.50 (you could totally use scrap material instead of bias tape. I’m just lazy like that)

Construction hard hat $1.00

Total Cost $3.50

So, for the set of three, the cost was about $20. By far the biggest expense was for the firefighter costume. I have plans to add a chef’s hat to the set, but not before Christmas. I need to turn my attention to finishing the felt food set that I have started.

4 responses to “DIY Boy’s Dress Up Kit

  1. Pingback: A (Mostly) Recycled and Handmade Christmas | feedingmykid

  2. you are fantastic! my daughter was asking me to make some dress up stuff for my grandson cause there just isnt any out there!! thanks!

  3. Pingback: Everybody loves playing dress-up! » Playing House

Leave a Reply

