Cowboy Beans

Stephanie O’Dea, over at A Year of Slow Cooking, is one of my favorite cookbook authors. I regularly cook out of Make it Fast, Cook it Slow and also from her website. This recipe for Cowboy Beans was a recent hit. You can find the original recipe here. Below is my adaptation to my family’s tastes – less spicy and no vinegar. I don’t cook with vinegar much because my husband is not a fan. Since my ground beef is already browned and coming from the freezer, I didn’t bother browning the onion and pepper, since I wasn’t dirtying a pan for the beef. I can see this would add an additional layer of flavor, but they were still tasty. Also, I decreased the amount of water that the original recipe called for.

Slow Cooker Cowboy Beans (From Feeding my Kid)

Adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking

1 lb. dried pinto beans, soaked overnight in cool water

1 small yellow onion, diced

1 lb. ground beef, browned

1 red bell pepper, diced

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (Lea and Perrins is gluten free if you buy the one made in the USA)

2 tsp salt

1 tsp  dried mustard

1 (16 oz.) can diced tomatoes (The orignal recipe calls for Rotel, but my kids don’t do spicy.)

1 (4oz.) can mild green chiles, diced. Optional – I add this to my portion at the end, because like I mentioned, my kids don’t do spicy.

4-5 cups of water

Combine all ingredients in a 6 quart slow cooker. Cook on high for 6-8 hours, or until beans are tender. We live at high altitude, so your beans may be softer before that.

Leave a Reply

