Mom’s Five Minute Marinara Sauce

Maybe the best recipe my mom ever gave me. So quick, so easy to adapt based on what’s in the pantry.  So good… so cheap… I could go on and on. 

The other day at the supermarket, I was excited because I had a coupon for any Newman’s Own product, and I wanted to get a jar of marinara sauce. It would still have been more expensive than making my homemade version below, but a girl can splurge occasionally, and sometimes you just need a shortcut.  I was dismayed when I figured out that Newman’s Own pasta sauce has an ingredient that isn’t allowed to make an appearance at our house – high fructose corn syrup. Boo to that. Guess I will be making my own. Good thing it doesn’t take long.

Really, you should let this simmer for at least ten minutes, but it would certainly be edible in five. The timing assumes that you have already cooked ground beef that you can pull from your freezer. Or, that you are making a vegetarian sauce. This is a great go-to on a night that you suddenly realize it is dinner time and your child is close to melt down mode. By the time your gluten free pasta is done cooking, so is this sauce.

Five Minute Marinara Sauce (from Feeding My Kid)

1 15 oz. can tomato sauce (or tomato paste mixed with water to equal 15 oz.)

1 15 oz. can fire roasted tomatoes

1 lb. ground hamburger, browned (optional)

1 tsp salt

2 tsp basil

1 tsp oregano

½ tsp dried minced onion

¼ tsp powdered garlic

1 Tbsp sugar

Combine everything in a medium saucepan over medium high heat. Bring to a boil, then turn down and simmer for 5-10 minutes.

Truthfully, when I have not had a clean saucepan available, I have also on occasion, made this in a microwave. So sue me. I never said I was a gourmet. Same general idea as above – dump, stir and nuke.

If you want to gussy this up a bit, here are some ideas:

  • Use ½  lb. Italian sausage and  ½ lb. ground beef instead of 1 lb. ground beef
  • Add shredded carrots for a bit of sweetness – just be sure to simmer long enough to cook the carrots
  • Add sliced mushrooms – I only like to do this if I am also browning the hamburger at the same time – I can brown the mushrooms as well.
One response to “Mom’s Five Minute Marinara Sauce

  1. Pingback: Colorado Potato Lasagne | feedingmykid

Leave a Reply

