Leaf Suncatchers

I can’t tell you how excited I am that Monkey is finally at an age that we can start doing preschool “projects” together, and he actually gets really excited about it. This past week, the weather has been gorgeous, so we read two books about fall and the falling of leaves:

1. Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf by Lois Elhert. I picked this up at a libary sale for a buck.

2. A Friend for All Seasons by Julia Hubery. Borrowed from the library.

Then we headed outside to collect some leaves.

It’s a really good thing that I was stuffing my pockets with leaves, because Monkey’s collection bucket kept turning up empty. In the grass at various points in the yard. What can I say? The boy loves to run around outside.

After we (I) had a sufficient variety of leaves, we headed back inside to make leaf suncatchers.

We talked about the different shapes and colors of the leaves, and also the different parts, such as the stems and the veins. We even got out the magnifying glass to take a closer look. Then we arranged the leaves on a sheet of self laminating paper.

Once he was happy with the arrangement of the leaves, I sealed it with another page sheet.

A proud three year old with his leaf suncatchers! I have to say, they look really awesome when the sun is streaming in.

2 responses to “Leaf Suncatchers

  1. That is such a wonderful idea! I think my daughter would absolutely love this…she’s always trying to bring inside her various collections.

Leave a Reply

