Lentil Oatmeal Cookies

Yes, that is not a typo. These cookies have lentils in them. But you really can’t tell. They are moist and delicious. I adapted this recipe from one in Woman’s World magazine, of all places. I have this habit of collecting recipes from everywhere. I have a three ring binder that is full of recipes I have torn out of magazines. And by full, I mean it is a three inch thick binder.

 Anyhow, I was originally attracted to this recipe because I am always looking for snacks that have a bit of protein in them. My kid is crazy low blood sugar boy. Really, it’s a Jekylll/Hyde thing. Feed the boy at regular intervals – smooth sailing. Miss a snack or feed him a snack he doesn’t eat – watch out. I’m not delusional enough to believe these are health food. I mean, there is twice as much sugar as lentils in these. But it does have lentils (a good source of protein) and oats (a good source of fiber) to slow the sugar hitting the blood stream.

 lentil oatmeal cookies

These originally called for dried cranberries, but we aren’t keen on those. When I make them, I make three different versions. One with raisins only (for my kid, who doesn’t like chocolate), with chocolate chips and chocolate drizzle (for my hubby, who doesn’t like raisins) and with raisins, chocolate chips and chocolate drizzle (for me, who likes pretty much everything you could throw at a cookie). Choose what works best for you.

Lentil Oatmeal Cookies (from Feeding My Kid)

Adapted from Woman’s World magazine

 1 ½ cups GF flour mix (I use Gluten Free Pantry)

1 tsp baking soda

¾ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp salt

¾ cup cooked, mashed lentils

3 Tbsp water

1 cup packed brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

1 flax egg (1 Tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 3 Tbsp warm water. Mix and let sit 10 minutes before using)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups certified gluten free oats (I use a combo of rolled and quick cooking)

6 oz. chocolate chips (optional) We use Enjoy Life brand.

1 cup raisins (optional)

 additional 2 oz. chocolate for optional chocolate drizzle

 Heat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. In a large bowl, combine the mashed lentils, water, and sugars. Mix with electric mixer. Add egg and vanilla and mix well. Add flour mixture and mix well. Stir in oats and your desired optional add-ins. Let the dough sit to thicken before scooping. No really. Take a 5- 10 minute break. Your cookies will be rounder and fuller if you do this. On greased baking sheet, drop by rounded tablespoons about 1 inch apart. Bake for 12 minutes. Let cool.

Optional chocolate drizzle: microwave additional chocolate at 50% power until melted; drizzle over cookies. Let sit until firm before transferring to airtight container.

Leave a Reply

