Smoothies Three Ways

My kid doesn’t like to sit down and snack. He thinks of it as a waste of precious playtime. Some days smoothies are the only way to get him to the table, but I get tired of the garden variety strawberry banana flavor. Here are three more exotic, yet still kid-friendly concoctions, that make use of stuff I always have on hand.

Carrot Cake Smoothie (from Feeding My Kid)

 Blend together:

4 oz. (1 small jar) carrot baby food

½ – ¾ cup canned pineapple, with plenty of the juice

1/3 c. coconut milk

1 frozen banana

1/8 tsp cinnamon

 I have a baby, so I always have carrot baby food. But even after he grows out of baby food, I will still keep it on hand. Many carrot cake smoothie recipes call for carrot juice – which expires in your fridge pretty quickly. Baby food can hang out in your pantry for a good long while. Also, I peel bananas that are past their prime and stick them in the freezer whole. This is partially for baking, but more often for smoothies. I always have a bunch at the ready.

 Incidentally, this was the boy’s favorite of the three:

Monkey: “Is this peach?”

Me: “No, carrot cake.”

Monkey (emphatically): “I love it!”

Me: “I’m glad!”

Monkey: “I can tell Daddy that it was my favorite.”

 Very Berry Smoothie – with Beets! (from Feeding My Kid)

 Blend together:

½ banana (frozen or fresh)

1 ice cube of pureed beets

¼ cup frozen raspberries

¼ cup frozen strawberries

¼ cup frozen blueberries

½ cup grape juice

¼ cup milk of your choice (almond, coconut, soy)

 So “ice cube of pureed beets” is easier than it sounds. I keep these in the freezer because I make Pink Pancakes (from the Deceptively Delicious cookbook) with them. I don’t bother with fresh beets – who has the time? I grab a can of cooked beets, rinse very well to get as much salt out as possible, stick it in the blender, then freeze in ice cube trays. Beets are awesome for you, but I hate how they taste, so this is the way that I sneak them into our diet.

 I keep separate frozen berries in my freezer, but you could also make this with a handy dandy frozen berry mix.

 Blueberry Banana “Frozen Yogurt” Smoothie (from Feeding My Kid)

Blend together:

1 banana (fresh or frozen)

½ cup frozen blueberries

¼ cup milk of your choice (almond, coconut, soy)

1/3 cup plain yogurt of your choice (coconut, soy)

 This is by far the most traditional smoothie recipe, but makes use of blueberries, which are nutritionally better for you then strawberries. If you (or your kid) likes things a bit sweeter, you could also add agave nectar. My kid gets excited about the “frozen yogurt” aspect – it’s all in the marketing, people.

