Patching Boys Jeans with Style

Here is a sad little pair of Monkey’s jeans.

Patching boys jeans before

Truthfully, that hole was there when I bought them. At a thrift store for $1.50. It was smaller though, and I thought I could iron on a patch on the backside and keep the hole from spreading. Alas, I was mistaken, and the hole grew. And I knew I needed to figure out a way to get some more wear out of them. I REALLY didn’t want to do that dark blue square on the front that screams “My mom patched my jeans!”

Yes, there is some childhood trauma there.

Enter, the most excellent tutorial from Ashley at Make It and Love It, for the Boys UK Flag Jeans. Her tutorials are always so straightforward and easy to follow. The hardest part (well not really hard, but annoying) was that my jeans wouldn’t fit on my sewing maching arm, so I did have to rip the outside leg seam to be able to stitch the patch into the jeans.

These turned out awesome. And I used a pair of my jeans that were ripped beyond repair for the patch. I love free solutions.

patching boys jeans after

Here is a picture of Monkey in action wearing the finished product.

Awww.

One response to “Patching Boys Jeans with Style

  1. Pingback: How to Dress Your Kids for Cheap | feedingmykid

Leave a Reply

