Sewing for Boys Sew Along – Treasure Pocket Pants

The April pattern for the Sewing for Boys Sew Along was the Treasure Pocket Pants. This made me happy, because I bought fabric for these a while back, and was anxious to get started on them. I think they turned out adorable.

I love the details on these pants. The side pockets, the faux fly, the cuffs, the double elastic in the waistband, the seam finishes.  This pattern is actually one of the reasons I bought the book.

A view of the waistband and faux fly is below. I didn’t get any pictures with the cuffs rolled up, darn it.

So let’s talk about the pattern.  If you plan to sew these, there is a pattern piece that is incorrectly sized  in the book. Go to this website (under the downloads tab) to print off the new pattern piece.

These pants have the most unusual construction techniques. There is the strange looking pattern piece for the front that had me wondering, “what the…?”  but eventually lead to the genius, and so very cute, faux fly.

And then there are the pesky side panel pieces, one of which is the incorrectly sized piece. I don’t think my problem was so much the pattern pieces, as something strange in the way that I read the instructions about attaching the side panel pocket to the side panel top. This is what I ended up with.

Grrrr. My completed side panels were about 1 to 1 1/2 inches too short. I ended up lining all the panels up at the waist, and using a rotary cutter to even up the bottoms, which isn’t a problem for me because my kid is short. But it did lead to problems down the road with the circumference of the hem facing piece being way too short.

But overall, I adore these pants and already have the fabrics picked out for a pair for my younger son. I think I might mess with the pattern pieces for the side panels, though, and create a piece that runs the entire length of the pants, and a pocket piece which attaches on top of it, which seems more intuitive to me.

Like this post? Check out my other Sewing for Boys Sew Along Projects:

January – Raw Edged Raglan Tee

February – Kickin’ Back Pants

March – Easy Linen Shirt (okay, I didn’t make this, but the post is a round up of my favorites)

4 responses to “Sewing for Boys Sew Along – Treasure Pocket Pants

  1. I think they turned out great! Is that a light denim or a denim dyed fabric?

    • Thanks Stacey, I agree! I really love them. I think it is a denim dyed cotton, but honestly I don’t know. How do you tell the difference between denim and denim dyed cotton? Other than remembering what you bought, which is so not going to happen for me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sewing for Boys Sew Along – Let’s Go Fishing Hat… | feedingmykid

  3. Pingback: Sewing for Boys Sew Along – The Henry Shirt, Finally. | feedingmykid

Leave a Reply

