Sewing for Boys Sew Along – Let’s Go Fishing Hat…

…and of course the Hold ‘Em Up Belt. As you can tell in this photo, we needed a belt!

Monkey has been asking for a belt “like Daddy’s” for a while now, so the timing of this pattern in the Sew Along was perfect. I used a scrap of this “retro cowboy” fabric I had from a quilt I made.

Here is the Let’s Go Fishing Hat. On my melancholy and wistful child.

 

I made it in the 4/5 size, even though he is a 3 generally. He has a melon head like me.

The dark fabric is leftover from the Treasure Pocket Pants I made last month. This is the light fabric:

from the Boys Will Be Boys line at fabric.com – you can find it here.

My husband is a sports fan, and I am not. Maybe that’s why I tire easily of the plethora of boy’s clothing that is sports themed.  I get so annoyed with the abundance of superheroes, sports, and cars.Maybe that’s why I sew for my boys! This fabric is about as “sporty” as I get. I felt like it was a good compromise. Hey, it has balls, right?

Both patterns this month were easy peasy. They were so easy that I really rushed through the hat and as a result the stitching just isn’t the quality that I am comfortable with. Next time I will slow down and pay more attention. But, since I did have so much free “sewing” time this month, I was able to put together the “Dream Big” shirt via the this tutorial and template from Finley and Oliver.

I really love how it turned out.

Monkey loves it too. He asks to wear this shirt all the time.

Like this post? Check out my other Sewing for Boys Sew Along Projects:

January – Raw Edged Raglan Tee

February – Kickin’ Back Pants

March – Easy Linen Shirt (okay, I didn’t make this, but the post is a round up of my favorites)

April – Treasure Pocket Pants

2 responses to “Sewing for Boys Sew Along – Let’s Go Fishing Hat…

  1. I really like the “sport” themed fabric for the hat. Great job!

Leave a Reply

