Boy Books – I Want My Hat Back and others

Here are the books that we have been enjoying from the library recently. Some are from this  list from Babble. The complete list is full of beautifully illustrated gems. Some of them were a bit beyond Monkey. I think in a few years they might be favorites. Some of them were definite hits right now. Here is what we are loving this week:

I Want My Hat Back, by John Klassen. This book cracks me up, and my kid up. It’s win/win. Simple story, simple, beautiful illustrations,  humor for grown ups and kids alike.

First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger. Simple text with nice illustrations. Bulldog, who is 18 months, likes this one a lot.

Blackout, by John Rocco. Monkey asks to read this one a lot. He is particularly enamoured with cities right now due to Curious George (the TV show).

The Big Orange Splot, by D. Manus Pinkwater. A lovely story about how we all don’t have to be the same. It is OK to express our uniqueness, and the residents of this neighborhood do just that.

Pete the Cat, I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin. We love Pete. We can’t get enough of him. This one is fun – Pete steps in different things and his white shoes are no longer white.

Leave a Reply

