Asian Ground Beef Stir Fry (gluten free, dairy free, egg free, peanut and tree nut free)

I may have mentioned before how much my children and husband love hamburger. And how much I really don’t.  Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on your perspective) hamburger gets heavy rotation at our house because it is cheap, quick and gets eaten. I am always looking for new ways to fix it.

I found this recipe from the website Nom Nom Paleo on Pinterest. I decided to “kid-ify” it, because let’s be honest, my kids would not eat broccoli slaw. Or scallions. And they can’t have fish sauce  anyway.

Turns out I actually like it too! And you know you have a winner on your hands when your four-year old asks you to help him to get it on the fork and “be sure to get that cabbage stuff on it too.”

asian ground beef

Asian Ground Beef Stir Fry (from Feeding My Kid)

Adapted from this recipe on  Nom Nom Paleo.com

Ingredients

2 tablespoons of grapeseed oil

1 lb of ground beef

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 lb of thinly sliced mushrooms

½ cup of shredded carrots

1-2 cups of shredded cabbage (I use the angel hair pre-shredded to save time)

2 tablespoons of gluten free soy sauce

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tablespoon fresh grated ginger (or WAY less if you use powered)

Heat one tablespoon of the oil in a big skillet. Add the beef and cook until browned throughout.  Remove from pan. Add the other tablespoon of oil to the pan and heat.  Add the onion and carrots and cook until the onion is translucent. Add the mushrooms and cook until they are nicely browned. Be sure to use a big pan, because as Julia says, “Don’t crowd the mushrooms” *- it really is the key to getting them beautifully caramelized. Add the cabbage and cook until it wilts a bit.  Mix together the soy sauce, garlic and ginger and add to pan. If it is looking a bit dry to you, add water a tablespoon at a time.

If I am feeling motivated, I serve this with rice. Most of the time I serve it as is, and the kids gobble it up. We don’t put it in lettuce cups as in the original recipe, but that seems like a fine idea for when I can get my kids to eat lettuce.

*Semi-obscure Julia Child reference.

21 responses to “Asian Ground Beef Stir Fry (gluten free, dairy free, egg free, peanut and tree nut free)

  1. I just made this…and it was SO GOOD!! I was taking my first bite thinking what do I need to add…but it was just SO GOOD! So accustomed to having to add something. While making it, I did add lots more garlic powder (to the meat, and then to the veggies too) and added snow peas and it was so good! Thanks!

  2. I made something similar years ago that was simple but good. It was hamb, shredded cabbage, salt , pepper, and a couple splashes of wine vinegar to taste. Brown hamb first, I think, then add cabbage and wine vinegar, stir frying it.

  3. Pingback: THIS WAS SO GOOD!! ground beef and cabbage stir fry (I added snow peas too) - Also Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan, March 22 - March 28 - Everyday Home Cook | Everyday Home Cook

  5. Hi, I was wondering if grape seed oil is absolutely essential to this dish. I’d like to substitute something already in my pantry. E.V. olive oil or coconut oil? Thanks.

    • You can use whatever oil you like! Since we can’t do sesame oil, which really rocks in this dish, I was just looking for a mild-flavored oil. If you don’t mind the flavor of olive oil or coconut oil, go for it!

  6. I used sesame liked, ground ginger as well as the fresh ginger, more garlic powder and more soy sauce than what it called for, and ground turkey rather than ground beef. I loveeeed it it was so tasty and good!! Thank u for the recipe!

  7. This sounds fabulous! May I ask how many servings this makes? Going to make it tonight for my family of 6, which includes 2 teenagers… 🙂

  8. This smells so good can’t wait to taste it!

  9. HOw many servings?

  10. Pingback: Recent Recipes | jenn's blog

  11. Hi I liked your recipe, but i added 1/3 cup brown sugar to the soy sauce mixture, thanks
    Shawna

  12. Pingback: Beef and Cabbage | iampinderella

  13. Made this for dinner last night and it turned out great! My boyfriend added hot sauce to give it a kick but I happily ate mine as is. I featured the recipe on my blog where I write about trying out ideas I find on Pinterest. Check it out! https://iampinderella.wordpress.com/2015/12/17/beef-and-cabbage/

  14. I made it for lunch yesterday.It was delicious!Thank you for sharing

    Sevil

Leave a Reply

